Saturday, 14 January 2017

THRILLER REVIEW: The Voices 1: The Defender - GX Todd

Release Date: 12/01/17
Publisher: Headline


Defender by G X Todd is an imaginative thriller that draws on influences from Stephen King, Clive Barker and Neil Gaiman to create a new world - where the biggest threat mankind faces is from the voices inside your own head. If you loved The Stand, you'll love Defender, the first in a four part series.

'Compelling, suspenseful, and altogether extraordinary' Lee Child

'So accomplished that it's difficult to believe it's a first novel, Defender is already worthy to take its place alongside The Stand in the canon. An absolute gem of a book' John Connolly

'On the cusp of sleep, have we not all heard a voice call out our name?'

In a world where long drinks are in short supply, a stranger listens to the voice in his head telling him to buy a lemonade from the girl sitting on a dusty road.

The moment locks them together.

Here and now it's dangerous to listen to your inner voice. Those who do, keep it quiet.

These voices have purpose.

And when Pilgrim meets Lacey, there is a reason. He just doesn't know it yet.

Defender pulls you on a wild ride to a place where the voices in your head will save or slaughter you.



For a reader perhaps the best books are the one that ask a question of you. In Todd's case, if you were virtually alone, would you listen to the voices in your head and if new ones arrive how much of it is you and how much an invader.

As you can tell from this question the story is indeed incredible dark, with events within the pages at times making you feel ill but that is perhaps what makes this book so unique. The fact that no punches are pulled, no subject taboo and with what feels like open writing into the mind all round just adds to the authors prowess. Back this up with a solid arc, decent dialogue and all round I was one disturbed bunny by books end. Definitely something to read for fans of Stephen King and Neil Gaiman as it links into the darkness that lurks within thiem.

No comments: